Morning & Night Skin Care Routine | Winter 

While I love makeup and watching makeup tutorials on YouTube and endlessly walking the makeup aisle of Target, skin care is where my love really lies. It pains me to think back before I really started researching and investing time into a routine about my lack of exfoliating (I didn’t even know what that was), not wearing SPF and not moisturizing at night time. Nowadays I am a stickler for all of the above. I am constantly annoying my family making sure they properly moisturizing and seeing if they need any product recommendations! I am always on the hunt for new products and spend so much time reading about different ones online. I actually get excited about finishing a product so I can buy a new one to test out and see if it is the miracle thing I need for perfect and glowy skin. My “to try” list of products is about a mile long!

Now, for my current routine. All of the products I use I would definitely recommend. My skin type is combo; more oily in the summer and more dry in the winter. My main problems I am trying to combat are blackheads, those annoying little white bumps on my cheeks and mild redness.

Morning  

Step 1: Splash my face with water and pat dry. All my life I have only washed my face at night, but after diving into the world of skin care I decided to start cleansing in the morning too. However after about a year of this I have gone back to just at night. I don’t think for my skin it really needs to be washed twice.

Step 2: Toner. I don’t do this everyday maybe 3 times a week. The toner I have right now is Paula’s Choice pore reducing skin balancing toner. It has done amazing things for my pores! This is also the toner I use everyday at night.

Step 3: Moisturizer. Right now I’m using Aveeno Smart Essentials Daily Nourishing Moisturizer with SPF 30. It has a lotion texture but sinks right into my skin. I also make sure to put it in my neck too- your neck needs SPF as well! And that’s it! Very simple morning routine.

Night

Step 1: Remove my makeup. If I am feeling extra ambitious I will use coconut oil. Coconut oil is a great makeup remover- it’s cheap, doesn’t burn if it gets in your eye and is just all around a winner. The only downside is that it takes longer to remove my makeup. Which is why most days I will just use my Neutrogena makeup wipes. I have used these wipes for years, and they are my absolute favorite.

Step 2: Cleansing. Right now I am using Purity by Philosophy which I keep in the shower. This a great cleanser with a milky texture and is very gentle on the skin. I’m currently on my second bottle. You can get Purity in multiple sizes including a travel size which is really nice for when I’m flying places!

Step 3: Exfoliate. My favorite is the St. Ives Green Tea Scrub. It’s not super harsh but still has some grit to help clean those pores out! I use this every couple days. Also it’s like $3- such a bargain.

Step 4: Toner. I use the same one by Paula’s Choice tone from my morning routine, and it has seriously cleared out my blackheads it’s amazing! Everyone needs to know about Paula’s Choice – all their products are amazing and have such great ingredients. The price point is great as well. Not as cheap as drugstore, but waaay less expensive than high end stuff.

Step 5: Moisturizer. Right now I use Maracuja Oil by Tarte. I put literally only two drops on my palm and press it into my skin. The smell is a little weird but this oil really helps even my skin tone and I have less redness in the morning.

Step 6: Night cream. If my skin is extra dry I will follow up the with Origins Drink Up Intensive Overnight Mask. This product smells like peaches and makes my skin sooooo soft in the morning.

And that’s it! Not too insane of a routine. I am missing a serum but I have my eye on a few at Sephora right now so hopefully that will be added to my night routine soon! What skin care products do you guys love? What are your holy grail products?? Let me know!!

Leave a Reply

