Mini Makeup Haul! | Product Review

I recently picked up a few things I had been wanting to try for a while now and I thought I would give them a mini-review/first impressions on here! Most of the products I got from Target (per usual) but I also got a couple things from Sephora as well!

img_0288

NYX Angel Veil Primer

I have been wanting to try this primer for a while since it is Kathleen Lights’ favorite drugstore primer (and I trust everything that comes out of that girls mouth), but it is $15.99, and for a primer, that is pricey for me. However, I got a few gift cards for Christmas and decided to pick this up! First, I love the packaging. It’s so cute. This primer is supposed to be the drugstore answer to the Hourglass Mineral Veil Primer and it claims to create a smooth canvas for makeup application, minimize shine, and help your makeup last longer. I have never used the Hourglass primer, so I can’t speak to that claim, but I think all the others are true! My biggest skin concern is texture, and I really do think this primer smooths everything out. The feel of this primer is a mix of lotion and silicone-y. It doesn’t feel quite as silicone-y as the Maybelline Instant Pore Eraser though.  I find this product to be very refreshing to use, and although I have only used a few times, my first impression is very positive!

NYX Micro Brow Pencil

I have mixed feelings about this product. I am very loyal to my L’Oreal Brow Stylist Definer, but for the sake of this blog and just curiosity, I picked up the NYX Brow Pencil when my L’Oreal one ran out. First, the cons. I feel like I have to apply more pressure to get color pay off and it just didn’t glide as easy as the L’Oreal one. I have to spend more time filling in my eyebrows than I am used to. On the other hand, the color matches me better and it stays in place longer. I get oily in my t-zone throughout the day, so sometimes by the time I get home from work my eyebrows look a little patchy when I use the the L’Oreal brow. I don’t find myself having the same problem with the NYX one. Will I repurchase this one or the L’Oreal one? UGH, I really don’t know at this point. Only time will tell I guess…

Maybelline Falsies Mascara

img_0286

This was an impulse purchase. The first two items I intended to purchase when I went to Target, but you know how it is when you wander the makeup aisles… Anyway, I had read that this was a popular mascara and I have been wanting to branch out and test different ones so I decided to pick this up! Once I got home to apply my new products from the store I realized I had purchased the waterproof one by mistake (this has happened to me a few times, and yet, I never learn….). I can’t speak to the waterproof claims, but I do like this mascara! It is volumnizing without being clumpy and held a curl throughout the day! That being said, it isn’t life changing and I still love my L’Oreal Telescopic Mascara a million times more.

Boots Simply Sensitive Toner

img_0285

My final purchase from Target! This was also an impulse purchase that I grabbed because it was on clearance for $5 and I had been wanting a toner with aloe Vera to help calm redness. I wasn’t familiar with this brand at all and really had no idea what to expect. The first time I used this I was actually really impressed with how nice it felt on my skin – very hydrating!

img_0289

Laura Mercier Tinted Moisturizer

Ahh. I am so excited by this purchase. I have been wanting to try this for a long time and finally decided it was time to purchase it since I had a gift card. I blended this in with just my fingers since technically it’s a moisturizer and it worked great! It looked so natural on the skin, and of course since it’s just a tinted moisturizer it really just evened my skin tone and didn’t provide much coverage, but it will be perfect for simple makeup days (which is most days for me). I also love that it has SPF 20! Sun protection is so important and I am always bummed when high end moisturizers don’t have SPF. I see many more Laura Mercier purchases in my future – her brand just seems so glamorous and minimalist – my ideal aesthetic!

Bare Minerals Mineral Veil Powder – Illuminating

img_0290

Unlike the above product, I bought this kind of on a whim (rare for me). I really like Bare Minerals and wanted to buy a high end product that would last a long time (so not mascara), and this had literally THOUSANDS of amazing reviews. I don’t have a finishing powder so I decided I would get this! I got it with the “illuminating” finish because honestly it just sounded pretty, but now I am not sure how I feel about it. When I first put it on, I realized it has little specks of glitter in it that show up on your face. But, I could really only tell when I was like 3 inches from my mirror, so we will see if that ends up being a real issue for me. It does however go on very nicely and did minimize my oily t zone which is amazing! Considering how little I used, this product will definitely last me a long time which is great. I am very happy with this purchase!

So just a few new products to add to my growing makeup/skin care collection but I am very pleased with them all! Have you guys bought any new purchases lately you love? Or have you tried any of the above products? What are your thoughts? Let me know!

3 Replies to “Mini Makeup Haul! | Product Review”

  1. Does it combat oil at all? I’ve been eyeing this primer for weeks but haven’t pulled the trigger. That $15 price tag makes me pause every time. It’s not expense but it is expensive to be drugstore.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I don’t think it has helped with my oily t zone… maybe a little bit but the days I use this primer and then set my face with bare minerals mineral veil I definitely notice my skin looks less oily than when I use the primer but don’t set it. It mostly just helps with my texture and makes my foundation go on smoother!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

