2017 New Year’s Resolutions

img_0244

I am not the kind of the person that typically makes resolutions. I think that if you want to go ahead and make a positive change in your life, than you should be able to start at anytime during the year – not just January! That being said, the past few months I have been reflecting a lot on my life and what changes I can make to be healthier and happier. And all of this has just happened to coincide with the New Year. So, for the first time, I have decided to actually write (or blog) about my resolutions. I am hoping that by publishing my goals on my blog, it will help me stick to them. And then in a year I can look back on this post and see how I did!

Resolution #1: Exercise



I know, I know – what a cliche resolution to make. BUT, this is an important one for me. This past summer I started working out regularly for the first time ever, and it was amazing. It helped me de-stress after work, gave me more energy and reduced my anxiety. Somehow along the way I injured my foot so I stopped going for a month or so to give it time to heal. But one month turned into two and before you know it I had stopped going altogether. And once you stop it is really hard to get the motivation to start going again. But I decided that after I got back from Christmas vacation, I would get a gym membership and I have now been going 4 (or so) times a week for the past few weeks. And once again, I am feeling so energized by this change. I feel better – both physically and mentally – and I am hoping I will be able to stick with it. I also want to try and attend classes at the gym. I was really into yoga for little while so I would love to get back into that, as well as try out some new classes! I am also excited for all the cute athletic clothes I now have a legitimate reason to buy myself 🙂

Resolution #2: Cook New Things


I have come to the realization that besides having to pay bills, cooking for yourself regularly, let alone cooking good food, is the hardest thing about being an adult. I look back now and can’t believe how much I took for granted all those home cooked meals my parents made for us every day growing up. Because let’s get real: cooking is hard. First, you have to plan out what you want to eat for the week (at least that’s how I like to do it). Which is a pain because finding new recipes that look good, and are quick and easy to make takes time (Pinterest is great for this though). Which means for the most part, I am recycling the same handful of recipes I know how to make easily. Then you have to go grocery shopping (my least favorite chore). And then, of course, you have to come home after a long day and cook the meal. So, to sum up, cooking for yourself is hard. That being said, I love to feeling of accomplishment that I get from cooking myself a really great meal that tastes delicious. And when I am prepared (meaning I know exactly what I am making when I get home and have everything I need to do so) I actually like to cook. So my main goal when it comes to cooking in 2017 is planning out my weeks better and testing out new recipes! I have so many cookbooks filled with great dishes and I want to actually try to make some of them. I have Chrissy Teigen’s cookbook and actually used two of the recipes this past weekend and both turned out great. Hopefully this is a good sign for the year to come!

Resolution #3: Blogging!


When I started this blog it was to really just extension of my newly developed interest in makeup, skin care, and beauty related things. I wanted a place to talk about products I discovered, things that I liked and didn’t like, and place to go to read product reviews and discuss beauty! I didn’t really think I would keep up with posting, and for a while I didn’t, but the past month or two I have been really enjoying it! After a bad day at work this has really become my happy place where I can focus on things that I enjoy and write about them and take my mind off the stressful-ness of real life. My  blogging goal for 2017 is really just to keep it up! To keep posting regular content, discover and connect with more bloggers and to hopefully to have this keep being a place where I can take my mind off of the real world for a second and just enjoy talking about makeup, skincare and all things beauty!

Resolution #4: DIY


I have always really been into crafting, even if I am not the most creative person in the world. I love coloring, painting, hot glue-ing… pretty much everything to do with crafts. Walking into Michael’s is not quite as exciting as walking into Sephora, but it’s up there! But while I am always pinning away ideas on Pinterest, I don’t actually end up doing any of  the crafts, and I want that to change. Because every time I actually end up doing one (like the wreath pictured above that I did a month ago) I have so much fun! I am making it my goal this year to spend more time on DIY or crafts that I really want to do and enjoy a weekend making/crafting something!

Resolution #5: Do more things that make me happy


This seems like an obvious one, but I think it is so important. It was so easy to fall into this trap where I come home from work, eat dinner, watch TV the rest of the night, and then going to bed. And I want to change that for myself! I want to spend more time on hobbies and activities (including the above four) and doing things I actually enjoy instead of just being lazy (if I’m being honest). I have been doing pretty well with this the past couple months and I really want that trend to continue. Even if it’s just taking an half hour to read my current book, or color in my adult coloring book (I love that this is a popular thing to do now!), I want to spend less time on the couch and more time doing actual things that I enjoy and keep me busy. That being said, sometimes all you need is a good Netflix binge marathon (I spent all day Saturday watching Broadchurch which is so good!). I just want to cut out the mindless TV watching and add more hobbies to my life!

So there you have it! My first actual list of New Years resolutions. Do you all participate in this resolution making? What are you hoping to achieve in 2017? Wishing you all a great year!

One Reply to “2017 New Year’s Resolutions”

Leave a Reply

