Month in Review | April

4C91B809-BDE4-4A9B-92DF-6C65377DFA19

Happy May everyone! I hope you all had a great April. I am very excited to officially be in the midst of Spring! It is such a nice change to be able to leave my apartment with only a light sweater or raincoat.

Beauty

38D7DDC7-2095-40C8-B5B4-C7BA0CB9C7CF

 

 

DFB1ADF6-1169-443A-8D61-51AE00C1919BIn the beauty realm for April, I was very into simple makeup with a definite “spring” vibe.  As per usual I have been using my Laura Mercier Tinted Moisturizer almost daily, however the past month I have been doing something new- which is applying it with my fingers. I normally use a beauty blender or brush but I had been feeling lazy so I started to just blend it in my my fingers and it actually works really well! I am very pleased but surprised as well. On top of that base, I have been using Orgasm by Nars blush. I have had this blush for over a year but I think April was the month I wore it the most. It has the most beautiful but natural pink shimmer finish and I have been low key obsessed with it. I finish off my look with either my NYX butter gloss or Lumière by ColourPop (review).

Also a quick update on my April Play! Box (review) – two of the products I have (surprisingly) really fallen in love with. They are the Smashbox Photo Finish Primer and30ECBC64-8804-4BA5-8D7D-E6E3F8E0029B the Peter Thomas Roth Water Drench Hyaluronic Cloud Cream. I have been using these both everyday for the past couple weeks and I am obsessed. Initially when I reviewed them for the blog I had only used them twice and I said they were good, but not worth the steep price tag. Sadly, (for my wallet) my opinion has totally changed and I definitely see myself purchasing both of them when my samples run out. The primer completely fills in my pores and really helps soften my skin and my makeup applies great on top. I am actually very shocked how much I love this product because I don’t usually see primer as a necessity in my routine, but this one has changed the game for me.

The moisturizer (which I have been using at night) sinks right into my skin and when I wake up the next morning my skin is so soft and looks brighter and my texture looks a lot better. I am actually so sad that I love this moisturizer so much because I still adore my Confidence in a Cream (review) but now I am sort of leaning towards buying the full size Cloud Cream instead… which makes me sad lol. I think part of the reason is that the Confidence in a Cream is thicker, and since it is starting to get warmer my skin has just been responding better to a lighter moisturizer. But anyways, I will of course keep you all updated with which one (or both…) I end up purchasing.

84F4A8EB-8329-4278-BA64-FEBEBA222DDB

In addition to makeup/skincare, my love of perfume was re-ignited last month by my new Tory Burch Love Relentlessly (details here). I got this at the tail end of April, but I am already obsessed by it so I had to include it in this post.

Books

I go through phases where I don’t read all month long, and then one month I will read 5 or 6 books. April was definitely the latter, I think I read 4 books. Of the books I read this month, I would highly recommend Good as Gone by Amy Gentry. It is a suspense/thriller novel – in the same vein as Gone Girl and Girl on the Train. I don’t think it was as well written as those two books are, but it was still a huge page turner for me and I think I finished it in only a couple of days. I couldn’t put it down! I also have been reading When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi which is a really amazing memoir about a neurosurgeon who gets diagnosed with lung cancer. I haven’t finished it yet but it is truly an incredible story that you all should read.

TV/Podcasts

IMG_1463.jpg

I was persuaded by a co-worker to give Breaking Bad a second shot (I tried to watch it a few years ago and found it too slow to watch) and I am hooked! I know I am very late to the game with this show, but I definitely get why people are crazy about Walt and Jesse now! I am in the middle of season 3 at the moment and will probably finish it in the next couple weeks. I even got my boyfriend hooked on it too!

I also started the podcast S-Town this month, which is just an incredible and unique story about an eccentric man in small town Alabama. S-Town is from the same people who created Serial (which I loved!) and so I knew I needed to listen to this podcast as well. It is hard to give an adequate summary because it kind of jumps around a lot and doesn’t fit into a genre, but it is so good – I listened to the whole thing on a Saturday while doing chores and stuff around the house. Podcasts are perfect for that!

 

What did you all love last month? Let me know in the comments!!

 

Did you catch my last post? You can read it here: Purity by Philosophy | 1 Year Later

Follow me on instagram! @karleenbeauty

3 Replies to “Month in Review | April”

  1. The April Play box was my first box. I wasn’t super excited about it but I’ve fallen in love with the Peter Thomas Roth moisturizer and the Kate Somerville ExfoliKate Intensive Exfoliating Treatment .

    The moisturizer from Peter Thomas Roth is pretty amazing. If you like that one. Dr. Jart also has one that is very similar. It’s called the Water Drop Hydrating Moisturizer and it’s only $36 vs the one from Peter Thomas Roth.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

